8 Sep

Going That Extra Mile At Wilne

Start Of The Wilne 10K

Sunday’s (3 September) Wilne 10K packed a punch in many ways with its PB potential course, first-rate organisation and ever-willing voluntunteers. The marshals went beyond the call of duty for one runner in particular

Martyn Jennings-Temple of Birchfield Harriers arrived late due to an accident on the A50. Several marshals came to his rescue with one directing him to a layby, another opening up a ‘private’ car park for him followed by a third who escorted him to the start on his bike. These kind actions helped Martyn to a PB of 44:02 and his goal of a sub-45 minute time. 
The marshals were singled out for praise with many runners appreciating their enthusiasm and support, which helped make the event a success. The Western Power Distribution Wilne 10K is one of eight races in the RunDerby series and part of the Midlands Road Running League. It also hosts the Derbyshire Athletics 10K Championships and the Midland Masters AC 10K Championships. 
A 10am start from Sawley Road saw over 900 runners completing one and a half laps of a traffic-free loop around Church Wilne. Stuart Spencer of Notts AC won the seventh Wilne 10K in 30:59 followed by Shaun Antell of Bideford AAC in 31:05. Chris Rainsford of Highgate Harriers was third in 31:17. 
In the women’s race, Amanda Crook of Southport Waterloo AC was the fastest lady in 35:01. Heather Timmins of Thames Valley Harriers was second in 36:04 with Juliet Potter of Charnwood AC third in 36:32. The last runner crossed the line in 1:31:25.
Full results are available in our race listings section.