4 May

Need For Speed At Silverstone 10K

Winner At Silverstone Grand Prix 10K

Michael Aldridge of Wootton Road Runners was first past the chequered flag at the Silverstone Grand Prix 10K on Tuesday (2 May) with an impressive time of 33:30. He was joined at the race by 67 other Wootton Road Runners, which had the biggest club contingent taking part.

Now in its 34th year, the race, organised by Silson AC, saw participants complete two laps of the Silverstone ‘Bridge’ Circuit, more commonly used for motor racing. It is the first of eight races in the East Midlands Grand Prix (EMGP) midweek series and is also open to wheelchair and handcycle athletes.
Following on from Aldridge, only one second separated Hywel Davies of the McCarkiss Endurance Project and Kieran White of Hercules Wimbledon AC, who finished second (33:39) and third (33:40) respectively. 
Katie Synge of Charnwood AC won the women’s race in 37:03 followed by Kelly Barnett in 38:20. Vicky Nealon of Rugby & Northampton AC came third in 38:30. The midpoint runner finished in 50:35 with the last entrant crossing the line in 93:10 (1:33:10). 
Coventry Godiva Harriers dominated the wheelchair race with eight out of the field of 16 from the club. They also claimed first, second and third places with Joshua Hartley finishing in 28:04, only two seconds in front of his teammate Sean Jones who followed in 28:06. Rob Smith was third in 29:06. The club also took first and second in the women’s race with Jen Warren finishing in 41:33 followed by Sophie Taylor in 41:58.
The fast, almost flat course is ideal for PBs with £100 awarded for a new course record. The current record is 29:26, set by Kenyan Hillary Lelei in 2001 and remains unbeaten.    
Full results are available on our race listings page.
Photo courtesy of Mick Hall Photos